Time: The most precious asset we have in our lives

It is one of the most saddest moments of display when a person is on his deathbed, recalling back on his life. Remembering all the bad things that he did, but also reminiscing about the good times, Yet, tears start rolling down his eyes when he thinks of what he could have been.  The places that he could have gone to, the dreams that he could have made into reality, and the opportunities he could have taken  The only thing that is going through his mind is  that I wish that I had more time. I wish I had more time for my wife, when there were times when she needed me the most. I wish I had spend more time with my parents, instead of trying to cut the bond between them. I wish that I spent time with my siblings, before oceans became the barriers between us. I wish I had spent more time with my friends, instead of shunning them away.I wish that I could spend more time with my kids, when they would ask me to play and I would say to them,” I am busy, let’s play another time”. Yet there wasn’t a next time, because I didn’t have the love to sacrifice some of my time for my kids. I wish I had more time. The man realizes on his deathbed that he has no time left, but he still feels the need to wish, because he believes that this is the only thing he can do right now, is to wish. This person can be anyone. It can be you or it can be me. The only thing that we need to do is to follow this man’s road is to waste our time. Yet, what should we do so that we don’t waste our time and utilize it to its maximum capacity.

It should be engraned in our minds that time is the greatest asset that we possess. Yet, time is an asset that is unlike any other. It doesn’t increase its value over time, since it is time. Yet as the years go by, the time that is allocated for ourselves decreases. It is a reality of life that after it “looms the horror of the shade”, which is death. Therefore, we have a limited amount of time on this Earth, and we have to utilize it correctly. A question that is posed is,”When do we waste the most time?”. The answer is simple, It is in our youth. We see that this is prevalent today with the evolution of social media and the popularization of Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus, Instagram, Snapchat,etc. There is no denying that the majority of users of the social outlets are young people. People spend hours checking there Facebook status and they waste their lives. There is a saying that I heard which has an impact on my mind, It is this:

Take benefit of five before five: Your youth before your old age, your health before your sickness, your wealth before your poverty, your free time before you are preoccupied, and your life before your death”

Now, after reading this quote, there are two things that young people addicted to social media do, waste their free time and their youth. Yet, what can we do so that we can break out of this chain.

Firstly, Highlight what is important in your life. Remember that when you grow up, it isn’t Facebook that is going to be accompanying with you for the rest of your life. Therefore, Facebook should not be the most central focal point in your lives. Highlight what is important. It can range from your family, your job, or even your hobbies. Don’t waste the time that you are blessed with, until you finally realize that you have no more time left to spend.

Secondly, Find something else to do that is worth your time. I have heard countless tales of my friends telling me that their parents never listen to them because they aren’t there or when they are there, they are to busy glued to the computer screen. It is plain and simple: If you have kids, spend more time with your kids before they are all grown up. If you have parents, spend more time with them because you don’t know how much time they themselves have left. Spend more time with your siblings before they have their own families. You will never notice how time flies until you see the people that you grew up with start getting grey hairs. 

Lastly, Catalog how you spent your time. In addition to spending time with your family and friends, you can be productive by reading a book and gaining knowledge. Yet, you must have motivation for this because as humans, we tend to lose motivation pretty easily. Therefore, attempt to everyday write about how you utilize your time wisely. For you see, when you write something positive, it gives you satisfaction in doing the action, while if you write something wrong, then you will look back on your mistakes and try and fix it.

Time is the most beautiful asset that we have in our lives. Use it very wisely, and don’t waste it. Therefore, don’t fret on the time that you have wasted. Remember:

Leave a Reply

